The Brick and Block Industry Excellence Award is an acknowledgement of Service to the Brick and Blocklaying Industry.  It is intended to recognise individuals who contribute to the goals of the Federation and for the betterment of the Brick and Blocklaying industry.

Award recipients are selected by the Chief Executive and Brick and Blocklayers Federations Board based on an individual’s contribution that current year.

Recommendations for recipients can be made in writing to prior to 1 May.

Previous recipients


Daryl Burgess

  • Contribution to industry apprenticeships (NAG Chairman)
  • Service on BBFNZ Board


Steve Crossland

  • Contribution to the development of the Best Practice Guide – Brick Veneer.


Rick Mead

  • Service on BBFNZ Board (Board Chairman) 


Greg Durkin (BCITO)

  • Contribution to improving apprentice training